A Farewell: Charles Kingsley

shutterstock_114996814

My fairest child, I have no song to give you;
No lark could pipe to skies so dull and grey:
Yet, ere we part, one lesson I can leave you
For every day.

Be good, sweet maid, and let who will be clever;
Do noble things, not dream them, all day long:
And so make life, death, and that vast for-ever
One grand, sweet song.

Charles Kingsley

A Farewell. To C.E.G.

The line everyone knows from this poem is the rather patronising ‘Be good, sweet maid, and let who will be clever’. But I find much more interesting and helpful the second line, which I have put in bold type. To each his own…

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Farewell: Charles Kingsley

  1. socialbridge says:

    Yes, I agree that the line you have emboldened is the really powerful one. Thanks!

  2. Anna says:

    Who is “C.E.G”? My nan loved this poem from her schooldays and later became “C.E.G”. Strange coincidence but I wonder who this one was, anyone?

Leave a Reply

