Shenandoah: sung by Peter Hollens

Oh, Shenandoah,
I long to see you,
Away you rolling river.
Oh Shenandoah,
I long to see you,
Away, I’m bound away,
‘cross the wide Missouri.
Oh Shenandoah,
I love your daughter,
Away, you rolling river.
For her I’d cross,
Your roaming waters,
Away, I’m bound away,
‘Cross the wide Missouri.
‘Tis seven years,
since last I’ve seen you,
And hear your rolling river.
‘Tis seven years,
since last I’ve seen you,
Away, we’re bound away,
Across the wide Missouri.
Oh Shenandoah,
I long to see you,
And hear your rolling river.
Oh Shenandoah,
I long to see you,
Away, we’re bound away,
Across the wide Missouri.

 

Shenandoah_River
Oh Shenandoah” (also called simply “Shenandoah”, or “Across the Wide Missouri”) is a traditional American folk song of uncertain origin, dating at least to the early 19th century.

There are numerous versions of this song, and many singers to choose from on You Tube. I chose Peter Hollens, as he and I follow each other on Empire Avenue and therefore, through the magic of social media, I feel he is a friend.

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

