Doesn’t Anybody Know My Name? Rod McKuen

Fought a war that’s come and gone
I’ve been away for so long
My sister upped and wed
Doesn’t anybody know my name?
Mom was sick and took to bed
And my old dog Red’s gone lame.

What time the trains roll in?
Please tell me if you can
(Two-ten, six-eighteen) ten-forty-four.

This old house is falling down
Doesn’t anybody know my name?
There ain’t no need in me for hanging round
The girl I left behind
I don’t have to see a sign
She’s gone with this friend of mine
To know things ain’t the same.
What time the trains roll in?

Please tell me if you can
(Two-ten, six-eighteen) ten-forty-four.
You can’t get far away

Doesn’t anybody know my name?
On just a soldier’s pay
Guess nobody cares to see
Everybody wanted me
A blind man catch a train.
Used to be when I could see

Please tell me if you can
What time the trains roll in?
(Two-ten, six-eighteen) ten-forty-four…

Rod McKuen

Doesn’t Anybody Know My Name?

Rod_McKuen_1972

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

