Got N Idea: Paddy Roberts

Got an idea you don’t love me any more
Got an idea you don’t love me any more
You keep treating me mediocre
Hitting me with the poker
Got an idea you don’t love me any more.

Got an idea that the leaves are turning brown
Got an idea that the heat is cooling down
I’ve got a feeling that all your loving
Is only mock turtle doving
Got an idea you don’t love me any more.

Don’t want to doubt you
I’m lost without you
But you went out just to buy a cigarette
You’ve been so long dear
Is something wrong dear?
Cos it’s 14 years
And you ain’t come back yet

Got an idea you don’t love me any more
Got an idea you’re finding me a bore
It’s a step in the wrong direction
When I’ve got to have police protection
Got an idea you don’t love me any more
Got an idea you don’t love me any more

Got an idea that you’re showing me the door
‘Cos whenever I sing your praises
You tell me to go to blazes
Got an idea you don’t love me any more

Got an idea that the rot is setting in
Got an idea the veneer is wearing thin
There were traces of whitish powder
Floating around my chowder
Got an idea you don’t love me any more

Don’t think I’m raving
But when I’m shaving
And I’m stropping up my razor  for the day
I’ve got a notion
It ain’t devotion
makes you eye me in that very funny way.

Got an idea you don’t love me any more
Got an idea you don’t love me any more
Honey, tell me that  I’m mistaken
Just what is that box you’re makin’?
Got an idea you don’t love me any more.

Paddy Roberts

Got N Idea

PR

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

