Over The Hills And Far Away: John Gay

Another song from John Gay‘s ‘The Beggar’s Opera‘. This is Laurence Olivier as Captain Macheath and Dorothy Tutin in Peter Brook‘s 1953 version of John Gay’s “Beggar’s Opera”.

MACHEATH:

Were I laid on Greenland’s Coast,
And in my Arms embrac’d my Lass;
Warm amidst eternal Frost,
Too soon the Half Year’s Night would pass.

POLLY:

Were I sold on Indian Soil,
Soon as the burning Day was clos’d,
I could mock the sultry Toil
When on my Charmer’s Breast repos’d.

MACHEATH:

And I would love you all the Day,

POLLY:

Every Night would kiss and play,

MACHEATH:

If with me you’d fondly stray

POLLY:

Over the Hills and far away

300px-William_Hogarth_016

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Over The Hills And Far Away: John Gay

  1. susan s. says:

    Love this!!
    And clicking thru led me to Treebeard’s version with lots different words. Now I’m wondering who wrote the tune.

  2. Reblogged this on Greatpoetrymhf's Weblog and commented:
    Great start to your weekend….with thanks

  3. Shared with delight and reblogged……thanks You made my weekend delightful and de LIGHT full.

Leave a Reply

