Voi Che Sapete: Maria Ewing

Voi che sapete
Che cosa è amor
Donne vedete
S’io l’ho nel cor
Donne vedete
S’io l’ho nel cor

Quello ch’io provo
Vi ri diro
E per me nuovo
Capir nol so

Sento un affetto
Pien di desir
Ch’ora è diletto
Ch’ora è matir

Gelo e poi sento
L’alma avvampar
E in un momento
Torno a gelar

Ricerco un bene
Fuori di me
Non sochi il tiene
Non so cos’è

Sospiro e gemo senza voler
Palpito e tremo senza saper
Non trovo pace notte nè di
Ma pur mi piace languir cosi

Voi che sapete
Che cosa è amor
Donne vedete
S’io l’ho nel cor

Tell me what love is, what can it be
What is this yearning burning me?
Can I survive it, will I endure?
This is my sickness, is there a cure?
First his obsession seizing my brain,
Starting in passion, ending in pain.
I start to shiver, then I’m on fire,
Then I’m aquiver with seething desire.
Who knows the secret, who holds the key?
I long for something – what can it be?
My brain is reeling, I wonder why;
And then the feeling I’m going to die.
By day it haunts me, haunts me by night.
This tender torment, tinged with delight!
Tell me what love is, what can it be?
What is this yearning, burning in me?
What is this yearning, burning in me?
What is this yearning, burning in me?

This aria is sung by Cherubino in the second act of Mozart’s ‘The Marriage of Figaro’.

The Royal Opera House gives some of the background to the aria here.

About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Songs and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

