I Didn’t Go To Church Today: Ogden Nash

shutterstock_100297928

I didn’t go to church today,
I trust the Lord to understand.
The surf was swirling blue and white,
The children swirling on the sand.
He knows, He knows how brief my stay,
How brief this spell of summer weather,
He knows when I am said and done
We’ll have plenty of time together.

Ogden Nash

I am sure God will understand, Ogden. My usual excuse is ‘laborare est orare’ (to work is to pray), which I trot out when it is snowing. But your guilt does show through in the last line where your usually masterly handling of metre completely deserts you!

The illustration is copyright: Christian Delbert via Shutterstock
About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

