‘How Quietly Love Went’: Anon

Petani_beach,_Kefalonia_10-2003_02

How quietly the summer day went by
How quietly the colour and the light
And all the amber radiance of the sky
Changed to the quiet peacefulness of night.

How quietly love went – I never heard
The beating of his wings nor shed a tear
Only the kindness in your look and word
Told me that love was dead – at last – my dear.

Anon

I am very sorry not to be able to tell you who wrote this. It reads so much like the poetry of Emily Dickinson that I was quite convinced it would be by her, but I have not found any proof of this. Does anyone know who the author is?

It is the last couplet that I find particularly moving.

The illustrations is of Petari Beach, Kefalonia, Greece by Dan Taylor from London, UK via Wikimedia.
About layanglicana

Author of books on Calcutta, Delhi and Dar es Salaam, I am now blogging as a lay person about the Church of England and the Anglican Communion. I am also blogging about the effects of World War One on the village of St Mary Bourne, Hampshire.
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

